Donations Bequests Login

Past Events

Subscribe to our mailing list

For information on upcoming events please subscribe to our newsletter.

If you would like to receive our monthly newsletter or quarterly journal please visit our Member Benefits page for more information.

May 2021

Sunday 30 May

Historic Newspaper Transcription Day(Events)

South Australia's History Festival

When: Sunday May 30, 10:00am

Where: Genealogy SA Research Library Centre
 201 Unley Road, Unley

View more

June 2021

Wednesday 02 June

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions. Please submit them by Monday 31st May.

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 03 June

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: “The battle over Battle Abbey - 1066 revisited”

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 06 June

Scotland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Scottish Family History Societies

When: 2.00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 09 June

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Place and family name changes in South Australia. Group discussion

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 14 June

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Using DNA in Irish research (previously listed for the July meeting)

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 16 June

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Matching people using Living DNA and GEDMatch

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 17 June

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Writing About Sensitive Issues - Group Discussion

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

July 2021

Thursday 01 July

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Census records

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 07 July

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions. Please submit them by Monday 5th July.

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 12 July

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Members discussion - brick walls and success stories (previously listed for the June meeting)

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 14 July

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: "An ancestor's participation in an historical event" Carsten Lührs. Presenter: Merlene Johnston

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 15 July

Family History Writers Group (2)(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Which three of your ancestors would you invite to a dinner party, and why? Group participation.

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 15 July

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Which three of your ancestors would you invite to a dinner party, and why? Group participation.

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 18 July

Family History Awards Luncheon(Events)

When: 12 Noon, Sunday July 18

Where: Club Marion
 262 Sturt Road, Marion

View more

Wednesday 21 July

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Looking at Ancestry DNA

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

August 2021

Wednesday 04 August

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions. Please submit them by Monday 2nd August.

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 05 August

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Tricks of the trade

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 09 August

Scotland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Migration between Ireland and Scotland

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 09 August

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Migration between Ireland and Scotland

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 11 August

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Using DNA to trace European ancestry. Presenter: Richard Merry

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 18 August

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Another look at the updated FTDNA website

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 19 August

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: More than one way to write a family history, presenter Judy Smith

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Tuesday 31 August

Discovering Kin and Country(Events)

Register to listen to talks by researchers, archivists and library staff involved in discovering kin and Country.

When: 9:30am to 2:00pm

Where: Online

View more

September 2021

Wednesday 01 September

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions. Please submit them by Monday 30th August.

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 02 September

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Bring your brick wall

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 08 September

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: 1. Training of midwives in the province of Poznań/Posen 1820-1841. 2. Interesting finds and how they were achieved. Presenter: Philip Mann

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 13 September

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Emigration of Irish Famine girls to Adelaide through the Earl Grey Scheme

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 15 September

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: DNA Q&A

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 16 September

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: My most unusual ancestor. Group discussion.

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 19 September

Scotland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Scotland resources in the SAGHS Library

When: 2.00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

October 2021

Wednesday 06 October

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Citing your sources

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 07 October

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Military Records

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 11 October

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: TBA

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 13 October

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Forgotten records. Presenter: Colin Lehmann

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 20 October

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: My DNA breakthroughs

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Wednesday 20 October

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Writing creatively. Presenter: Doreen Kosak

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 27 October

AGM(Meetings, Lectures & Seminars)

Annual General Meeting 2021

When: 7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Where: At the Society Library and via ZOOM
 201 Unley Road, Unley

View more

Saturday 30 October

Building your Family Tree from Scratch (WEA Course)(Meetings, Lectures & Seminars)

A WEA course for beginners presented by Genealogy SA Members

When: Sunday October 30, 9:30am (ACST)

Where: WEA Centre

View more

November 2021

Wednesday 03 November

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions. Please submit them by Monday 1st November.

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 04 November

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Some useful sites to search

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 07 November

Clipper Ship 'City of Adelaide' Descendants Day(Events)

Clipper Ship 'City of Adelaide' Descendants Day

When: 11am to 5pm

Where: Shed 13, Dock 2, Honey Street
 Port Adelaide

View more

Monday 08 November

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Research on the archaeological site of an Irish Clachan at Baker’s Flat near Kapunda. Presenter: Susan Athure

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 10 November

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Deciphering German headstones. Presenter: Wolfgang Preiss

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 17 November

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Ethnicity

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 18 November

Genealogy Gems Lunch Time Sessions(Meetings, Lectures & Seminars)

Irish Family History

When: 1PM to 2PM

Where: Hetzel Lecture Theatre
 State Library of SA, Nth Tce

View more

Thursday 18 November

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: End of year celebrations. Contact the convener for more details.

When: 7:00pm

Where: Contact SIG convenor via email

View more

Saturday 27 November

Germanic and Continental European SIG Group Outing(Events)

Outing to Seven Hills and Polish River Church Museum

When: 10.00am

Where: Meet at Sevenhill Cellars

View more

December 2021

Thursday 02 December

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Manorial records

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 05 December

Scotland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Show and Tell about your family tree

When: 2.00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Tuesday 07 December

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions. Please submit them by Monday 4th December.

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 08 December

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Your holiday memories, from your souvenir collections

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 13 December

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Discussion on our successes during the year

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 15 December

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: DNA discussion

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

January 2022

Wednesday 19 January

Guild of One-Name Studies - Australia South Region(Meetings, Lectures & Seminars)

Topic: One-Name studies and future meetings

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 30 January

Working Bee - CANCELLED(Events)

When: 10:00am to 3:30pm TBC

Where: Genealogy SA
 201 Unley Road, Unley

View more

February 2022

Wednesday 02 February

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Family Historian, a short operational overview followed by general operational questions (submit your questions by Tuesday 25th January) – Presenter Malcolm Kingston

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 03 February

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: English Surnames

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Sunday 06 February

Scotland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: "Scottish Naming Patterns" - are they relevant to your research?

When: 2.00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 09 February

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Heimat Adelaide - The next generation. Presenter: Ben Hollister

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 09 February

Wednesdays @1(Seminars)

Connections & Insights

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

Monday 14 February

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Love and marriage

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 16 February

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: The SA Geographic DNA project

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 17 February

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Don't wait until it's too late - just write it! Doreen Kosak & group discussion.

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 17 February

Genealogy Gems - Writing your Family History(Meetings, Lectures & Seminars)

Presented by Judy Smith

When: 1PM to 2PM

Where: Hetzel Lecture Theatre
 State Library of SA, Nth Tce

View more

Wednesday 23 February

Wednesdays @1 Genealogy SA Databases(Seminars)

Presented by David Ballinger

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

March 2022

Wednesday 02 March

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions – Presenter Michael Smith. Please submit your questions by Monday 28th February

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 03 March

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: English canals and railways

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 09 March

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Settlement of Buchfelde, South Australia . Presenters: Aileen Preiss and Sharon Mansell

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 09 March

Wednesdays @1 Trove - Beyond the Basics(Seminars)

Presented by Emily Richardson

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

Monday 14 March

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: County Cork records

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 16 March

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Introduction to DNA in Family History

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 17 March

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: A Method of Creating a Family History Book in Word - Presenter Terry Duggin

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 17 March

Genealogy Gems - Nurse records(Meetings, Lectures & Seminars)

Presented by Helen Chadwick

When: 1PM to 2PM

Where: Hetzel Lecture Theatre
 State Library of SA, Nth Tce

View more

Sunday 20 March

Working Bee(Events)

When: 10:00am to 3:30pm

Where: Genealogy SA
 201 Unley Road, Unley

View more

Wednesday 23 March

Wednesdays @1 Wills - Discover more about your ancestors(Seminars)

Presented by Sue Lear

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

April 2022

Sunday 03 April

Scotland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: The Clan MacNeil in Australia, their migration and genealogy. Presenter: John McNeil

When: 2.00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 06 April

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions – Presenter Michael Smith. Please submit your questions by Monday 4th April

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 07 April

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: The English language

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 11 April

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Overview of the Penal Laws in Ireland

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 13 April

Wednesdays @1 Family Tree Maker Part 1(Seminars)

Presented by Michael Smith

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

Wednesday 13 April

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: The Kockrich Family from Lusatia to South Australia. Presenter: Keith Lokan

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 20 April

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Autosomal DNA

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 21 April

Genealogy Gems - An ANZAC Personal History(Events)

Presented by Emily Richardson

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: Hetzel Lecture Theatre
 State Library of South Australia

View more

Thursday 21 April

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Setting Your Writing Goals and Achieving Them

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 27 April

Wednesdays @1 Genealogy SA Databases part 2- tips & tricks(Seminars)

Presented by David Ballinger

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

May 2022

Sunday 01 May

South Australian History Festival 2022(Events)

South Australian History Festival

When: May 1-31 2022

Where: Various

View more

Wednesday 04 May

Computer Users Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: General Questions – Presenter Michael Smith. Please submit your questions by Monday 2nd May

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Thursday 05 May

England Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Cholera and smallpox

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Monday 09 May

Ireland Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Research in Co. Galway

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 11 May

Germanic & Continental European Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: August Georg Cranz and Jane Simpson: Musicians of Gawler. Presenter: Jan McInerney

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 11 May

Wednesdays @1 Other Ways to tell a Family Story(Seminars)

Presented by Doreen Kosak

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more

Sunday 15 May

Heritage Scanning Day 2022(Events)

South Australia's History Festival

When: 9:00am to 3.00pm

Where: Genealogy SA Research Library Centre
 201 Unley Road, Unley

View more

Wednesday 18 May

DNA in Family History Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: DNA breakthroughs

When: 7.30pm

Where: Online via "Zoom"

View more

Thursday 19 May

Genealogy Gems - Genealogy SA - A lesson in research(Events)

Presented by Katrina McKinlay

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: Hetzel Lecture Theatre
 State Library of South Australia

View more

Thursday 19 May

Family History Writers Group(Special Interest Group)

Topic: Picture Captions & Picture Presentations. Presenters: Terry Duggin and Barry Horner

When: 7:00pm

Where: Online via "ZOOM"

View more

Wednesday 25 May

Wednesdays @1 Getting your Family History Published(Seminars)

Presented by Michael Bollen

When: 1pm to 2pm

Where: 201 Unley Road, Unley or online via Zoom

View more